Brady Announces Congressional Art Competition Winner

 Yesterday, I announced the winner of the 2019 Congressional Art Competition. Jake Hall, a senior at Magnolia West High School, was selected for his piece, “The Final Journey." His work, as well as the other winning pieces from each congressional district, will be displayed in the halls of the United States Capitol Building for a year. Sophie Wyatt, a senior at New Caney High School was awarded second place and Darcy Segura, a junior at Klein Oaks High School was awarded third place.


Winning Piece: "The Final Journey"

The Congressional Art Competition is a big highlight of the yearI am always blown away by the talent and creativity that the young artists in our district display. This competition is a great opportunity for high school artists in the Eighth Congressional District of Texas to showcase their skill, and a great way for me to bring a little bit of Texas to the U.S. Capitol.

First place winner Jake Hall, senior at New Caney High School.

This year's winning piece, The Final Journey, is such a wonderful tribute to a beloved President and Texan, and I cannot wait for millions of visitors to see it when they visit our nation’s capital.

Second place winner Sophie Wyatt, senior at New Caney High School.

This year'sesteemed panel of judges was comprised of artists and art experts from the community:

  • Chuck Drumm,Assistant Chair of the Department of Art at Sam Houston.
  • Brett Hall,President of the Conroe Art League.
  • Alex Bunch,Artist, Chief Creative Officer at The Woodlands Financial Group and Board-member of The Woodlands Art Council.

Third place winner Darcy Segura, junior at Klein Oaks High School.

Click here to view and download hi-resolution images.


Each spring, the Congressional Institute sponsors a nationwide high school visual art competition to recognize and encourage artistic talent in the nation and in each congressional district. Since the Artistic Discovery competition began in 1982, more than 650,000 high school students have participated.


© 2015 TexasGOPVote  | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy