Service Academy Nominations Board Holds Annual Meeting

The Service Academy Nominations Board I established in 2013 held its annual meeting to review applications and recommend the most qualified Texas candidates for nomination to our nation’s distinguished service academies.

Responsible for assessing hundreds of service academy applications, the Board is comprised of service academy alumni, members of the National Guard and Reserves, active duty and retired military, and former members of the U.S. State Department and U.S. Department of Defense. The board is currently chaired by Lt. Col. (Ret.) Brian Birdwell, a native Texan and decorated military veteran representing Texas Senate District 22.

Texas is honored to be the home of so many young men and women driven by a higher calling to service above self. Their commitment to our nation and freedom is inspiring. I’m grateful to Chairman Birdwell and all of the board members for their considerable wisdom and expertise in reviewing this year’s applicants, and I look forward to nominating the most qualified Texans through a fair and objective process.

“The State of Texas has a rich heritage of service in America’s Armed Forces. It is an honor for myself and the rest of the Board to be a part of the selection process that will carry forward that tradition.” Chairman Birdwell said. 

After Sen. Cruz I nominate 60 applicants, the service academies will make their selections early next year.

My 2018 Service Academy Nominations Board members include:

Sen. Brian Birdwell, Chairman
Lieutenant Colonel (Ret.), U.S. Army
Granbury, Texas

Judge Ernest Aliseda
Lieutenant Colonel, U.S. Army Reserve
McAllen, Texas

Barry Beck
Captain, U.S. Marine Corps
Midland, Texas

Nick Breedlove
Commander, U.S. Navy Reserve
Fort Worth, Texas

David Bristol
Major (Ret.), U.S. Air Force
Prosper, Texas

Nathan Cook
Staff Sergeant, U.S. Army Reserve
Magnolia, Texas 

Ken Cox
Major General (Ret.), U.S. Army
Harker Heights, Texas

Adriana Cruz
San Marcos, Texas

Steve Dement
Tyler, Texas

Alicia Dunn
Temple, Texas

Larry Gill, II
Lieutenant Colonel (Ret.), U.S. Army
Round Rock, Texas

Keith Graf
Texas Military Preparedness Commission
Austin, Texas

Frank Kisner
Lieutenant General (Ret.), U.S. Air Force
Austin, Texas

Rex Lemert
Captain, U.S. Army
Amarillo, Texas

The Honorable Dennis L. Lewis
Texas Military Preparedness Commission
Texarkana, Texas

Cody McGregor
Sergeant, U.S. Army
Houston, Texas

Dr. David McIntyre
Colonel (Ret.), U.S. Army
College Station, Texas

Mark McLaughlin
Captain (Ret.), U.S. Navy
Flatonia, Texas

Grant Moody
Major, US Marine Corps Reserve
San Antonio, Texas

Judith Schanno
Captain, U.S. Air Force
Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas

The Honorable Keith Self
Lieutenant Colonel (Ret.), U.S. Army
McKinney, Texas

Robert “Jerry” Strader, Sr.
Brigadier General (Ret.), U.S. Army
Abilene, Texas

Judge Jaime Tijerina
Lieutenant Colonel, U.S. Army Reserve
Mission, Texas

The Honorable Kay Yeager
Wichita Falls, Texas


© 2015 TexasGOPVote  | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy