Pfluger Tells Biden: Don’t Block US Energy Exports

Congressman Roger Williams (TX-25) and I sent a letter with 61 House Republicans to Energy Secretary Granholm and Commerce Secretary Raimondo demanding answers on the Biden Administration’s discussions to reinstate the export ban on crude oil. The letter is supported by the Texas Alliance of Energy Producers and the Permian Basin Petroleum Association. Read the full letter here.

I said, “Banning crude oil exports from the U.S. would be a catastrophic mistake that will harm the livelihoods of blue collar workers in the Permian Basin and result in higher prices for international crude, giving OPEC and Russia more profits. Even more, an export ban will lead to even higher costs for American families down the line. US energy policy should put Midland over Moscow. The Biden Administration should be encouraging, not crippling, American energy production.”

“President Biden’s war on American energy continues with his Administration’s latest discussions to reinstate the export ban on crude oil, which was repealed in 2015 on a bipartisan vote” said Congressman Williams. “From canceling the Keystone XL pipeline to halting new oil and gas leases on federal lands, no Administration has ever gone to such drastic lengths to destroy good paying jobs and make the United States more reliant on foreign energy. With every step the Biden Administration further caves to the far left of his party, stopping at nothing that will impede his goal to force a Socialist Green New Deal on the American people.”

Background on the crude oil export ban:

In 2015, Congress repealed the export crude oil ban so U.S. companies could freely enter the international marketplace. This contributed to a 500% increase in exports from 2015-2019, created more jobs in energy sector, and expanded our energy influence around the world.

Co-signers Include:

Representatives Kevin Brady, Jodey C. Arrington, Richard Hudson, Stephanie Bice, Dan Newhouse, Jake LaTurner, Michael Guest, Gary Palmer, Lauren Boebert, David G. Valadao, Chip Roy, David B. McKinley, P.E., Bob Good, Beth Van Duyne, Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S., Eric A. “Rick” Crawford, Mary E. Miller, Earl L. “Buddy” Carter, Michael C. Burgess, M.D., Michael Cloud, Glenn Grothman, Van Taylor, Adrian Smith, Chris Stewart, Liz Cheney, Ronny L. Jackson, Ben Cline, Ted Budd, Tracey Mann, Blake Moore, Kay Granger, Tom McClintock, Madison Cawthorn, Yvette Herrell, Debbie Lesko, Mike Bost, Tony Gonzales, Barry Loudermilk, Randy Weber, Kevin Hern, Troy Balderson, Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D., Greg Pence, Robert E. Latta, Ken Calvert, Jim Baird, Brian Babin, D.D.S., Jay Obernolte, Byron Donalds, Burgess Owens, Steve Chabot, Matthew Rosendale, Sr., Dan Crenshaw, Tom Emmer, John Joyce, M.D., Cliff Bentz, Elise Stefanik, and Julia Letlow.


© 2015 TexasGOPVote  | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy