Many Texas SREC Members Call for Speaker Bonnen to Resign

We have listened. We have listened to both our constituents and now, to the audio recording of the meeting between Speaker Bonnen, Chair Burrows, and Michael Quinn Sullivan.

The Michael Quinn Sullivan reporting July 25, 2019 was accurate in what it covered. Under no reasonable standard can one listen to the recording and not believe that Speaker Bonnen did in fact offer Michael Quinn Sullivan and / or his organization, Empower Texans (ET), Texas House floor media credentials (i.e. something of value) in return for help in the upcoming primary, including working against specific Republican members of the House. This was clearly a textbook “quid pro quo” offer. (NB: Whether or not the Texas Rangers will attempt to prosecute is a separate matter for them, a grand jury, and the law to decide.)

The reader is invited to listen for themselves, or read the article here or download the PDF transcript here.

There is much in the audio that goes beyond the quid pro quo. Everyone who listens will hear and key on different items. Things that are important to one may be inconsequential to another. However, we all agree that, in the interest of “trying to win in 2020”, that this should be dealt with quickly and decisively.

Going forward, Speaker Bonnen should appoint a conservative Republican who will support the RPT platform and legislative priorities as Speaker Pro Tempore, replacing the current Democrat Speaker Pro Tempore. House GOP Caucus members should select a new Speaker at their Friday, October 18th meeting, again being someone who is a conservative committed to support the RPT platform and legislative priorities in a transparent and ethical manner.

In a recent SREC Resolution on Maintaining Trust and Integrity in Our Texas House, September 14, 2019, that passed 59-1, our party’s executive committee voted to ensure that high ethical standards be restored. Part of the resolution states that

“...the State Republican Executive Committee demands both truth and full transparency by all parties involved, and encourages a higher standard of always doing what is ethical instead of a lower standard of what may be legal.”

Regardless of what the Texas Rangers may decide about the LOWEST standard—the bare minimum of the law itself—we demand a higher standard, especially of those elected to high positions. The designation of the one who literally speaks for the House membership, should be above reproach in issues of honesty, transparency, and integrity. Truth in dealing with all people--Representatives of BOTH parties and constituents across this great state should not have to wonder if they have been told the truth.

The Republican Party Voters have spent untold hours and countless treasure helping Republicans craft the platform, the legislative priorities, and to elect representatives.

Unfortunately, what a month ago the SREC described in our resolution as the “...possibility of unbecoming behavior...” by the Speaker should now be a reality to all who listen to the public recording and read the transcript.

Chair Burrows has already resigned as chair of the House GOP Caucus over revelations of what is on the recording.

Speaker Dennis Bonnen should now resign as Speaker.


Sue Evenwell, SREC Committeewoman, SD 1

Bob Kecseg, SREC Committeeman, SD 1

Jason Ross, SREC Committeeman, SD 2

David Covey, SREC Committeeman, SD 3

Allison Winter, SREC Committeewoman, SD 4

Walter West, SREC Committeeman, SD 4

Mark S. Ramsey, P.E., SREC Committeeman, SD 7

Terri Leo Wilson, SREC Committeewoman, SD 7

Warren Norred, SREC Committeeman, SD 10

Tanya Robertson, SREC Committeewoman, SD 11

David Halvorson, SREC Committeeman, SD 12

Jill Glover, SREC Committeewoman, SD 12

Dawn Elliott, SREC Committeewoman, SD 13

Roy Morales, SREC Committeeman, SD 13

Vergel Cruz, SREC Committeeman, SD 15

Gail Stanart, SREC Committeewoman, SD 15

Randall Dunning, SREC Committeeman SD 16

Susan Fountain, SREC Committeewoman, SD 16

Marian Knowlton, SREC Committeewoman, SD 19

Robert Casias, SREC Committeeman, SD 19

Hannah Scott, SREC Committeewoman, SD 20

Terry Harper, SREC Committeeman, SD 21

Ashley Sellers, SREC Committeewoman, SD 22

Sam “Tripp” Bryant, SREC Committeeman, SD 22

Stephen Broden, SREC Committeeman, SD 23

Leslie Thomas, SREC Committeewoman, SD 23

Mark Dorazio, SREC Committeeman, SD 25

Michael S. Raign, SREC Committeeman, SD 26

Deon Starnes, SREC Committeewoman, SD 30

Britton Brooks, SREC Committeeman, SD 30

Tom Roller, SREC Committeeman, SD 31

Alma Perez Jackson, Republican Party of Texas Vice-Chair


© 2015 TexasGOPVote  | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy