Pfluger Introduces Bill to Protect Taxpayer Dollars in Broadband Investment

WASHINGTON, DC — Congressman August Pfluger (TX-11) is proud to introduce the House companion bill to Senator Rick Scott’s (R-FL) Broadband Buildout Accountability Act to increase transparency for the $42 billion Bipartisan Infrastructure Package (BIF) Broadband Equity, Access, and Deployment (BEAD) Program grant awarded to the National Technology Information Administration (NTIA), which is currently exempted from transparency requirements under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). The Broadband Buildout Accountability Act would remove the FOIA exemption and require proof of how the $42 billion is spent to ensure taxpayer dollars are not misused. 

Rep. August Pfluger (TX-11): “As a member of the Communications and Technology Subcommittee, I have been working to help close the digital divide—which greatly affects our district and much of rural America. I am proud to work with Senator Rick Scott in introducing the Broadband Buildout Accountability Act to provide greater transparency within the BEAD process and ensure that $42 billion taxpayer dollars are not subject to fraud, waste, or misuse.”

Senator Rick Scott said, “Americans deserve to know how the government is spending their money—especially on a $42 billion grant that will help get essential internet services to those that need it most. This is not the government’s money, it is the hard-earned dollars of American taxpayers and they should know exactly how every cent is being spent. Our Broadband Buildout Accountability Act will increase transparency and help ensure this taxpayer money is spent with maximum accountability and return on investment. Spending taxpayer dollars should be a crystal clear process. I urge my colleagues to support this bill which increases government accountability and transparency to Americans everywhere.”

Original co-sponsors include Representatives Russ Fulcher (ID-01), Randy Weber (TX-14), Neal P. Dunn (FL-02), Judge Carter (TX-31), Troy Balderson (OH-12), and John Joyce (PA-13).


© 2015 TexasGOPVote  | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy