Reps. Jackson, Roy Introduce Legislation To Prohibit The Department Of Defense From Funding Abortion Services

Representatives Ronny Jackson (TX-13) and Chip Roy (TX-21) introduced legislation to prohibit the Department of Defense (DoD) from funding abortion services, specifically including travel expenses.  

Jackson said: “The Supreme Court’s decision to overturn the horrific Roe v. Wade ruling was a monumental win for human life, but the fight is far from over as Democrats pursue every tool available to enable those who seek to murder the most vulnerable among us. I will continue to be a leader in the pro-life movement by introducing and supporting legislation that will protect innocent babies as there is no greater threat to mankind than the normalization of abortion. The DoD should focus on the growing threats posed by China, Russia, and Iran instead of using military resources to push Democrats’ anti-life agenda. Taxpayer dollars should never be used to fund abortions in any way, shape, or form. With our legislation, Congressman Roy and I will take an important step to put a stop to it.” 

Roy said: "The Biden Administration’s blatantly political decision to disregard Congress and thumb its nose at the black letter of the law to establish an abortion travel slush fund for service members and their families is unacceptable; every Republican should unequivocally oppose it. This action flies in the face of both the separation of powers and nearly half a century of bipartisan consensus to respect the beliefs of millions of Americans by prohibiting taxpayer dollars from funding most abortions. Congress must take a stand against the Department of Defense from creating this abortion travel fund — which is already prohibited by federal law — and our bill would do just that.”

Bill text can be found here.

GOP Conference Chairwoman Elise Stefanik (NY-21) cosponsored Jackson and Roy’s legislation in addition to Representatives Brian Babin (TX-36), Randy Weber (TX-14), Pat Fallon (TX-04), Jake Ellzey (TX-06), Beth Van Duyne (TX-24), August Pfluger (TX-11), Lauren Boebert (CO-03), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Mike Waltz (FL-06), Matt Gaetz (FL-01), Greg Steube (FL-17), Kat Cammack (FL-03), Mary Miller (IL-15), Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Diana Harshbarger (TN-01), Dan Bishop (NC-09), Andrew Clyde (GA-09), John Moolenaar (MI-04), Debbie Lesko (AZ-08), Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Brad Wenstrup (OH-02), and Brian Mast (FL-18).


© 2015 TexasGOPVote  | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy